Skip to content

Distance stinks…

July 20, 2009

As you may or may not know I am in a LDR – yep long distance relationship.  Across the pond as they say which is quite a long way and honestly this stinks!

Love the man hate the distance! I just needed a quick vent and what better place then the friendly blog where every stranger known to man can come across it and say,  “huh I am not alone” or someone (brave) can tell me to suck it up (please don’t do that I won’t stay a nice person).

I have had a sore throat since Wednesday and yesterday I felt horrible when I woke up and got on-line at like 11am all I wanted was to talk to BF and like magic he appeared on-line – he is psychic.  I felt a little better speaking with him and then of course we got to speak around 4ish for about 90 min and then to make me feel even better he was on skype at 8 which is 2 am for him just so we could see each other before going to bed – I smiled and crashed out when we “hung” up around 230am.  The distance still stinks – We can’t pop over when we want for 3 days and the time difference is actually not to bad just 6 hours but somehow it works.  Except for when I get home from going out and I want to say good night its like 4am there so instead he gets emails from me saying good night.

I have done LDR’s before – like in another state not another country but HEY when something works why question it.  We are happy yet miserable as he has been told but not in the miserable life sucks way but the miserable because you would rather be somewhere else – AMEN to that.  Love happens and who am I to say nope I can’t date you for XYZ reasons.  At least we know we will see each other fairly soon – September.  Gosh it seems so damn far away but really its just around the corner.  I get to be there for his birthday – yeah I am the best birthday present ever <nodnod>

So what else do you do to get thru the distance and not having them right there?  Chatting, Email and Skype is my new best friend ohh and the girls on the forum are great too!  Nope I won’t tell you where as that is my secret place 😉 Let’s hope September comes QUICK!

Cocktails and Butterflies to you all!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Janey permalink
    July 28, 2009 3:42 am

    Hi there, just stumbled upon your blog and when i read this entry i couldnt help but reach out to you and tell you that you’re my hero! I am in such a similar situation – my boyfriend also lives across the “damn pond” and i’m also counting down the minutes til september cause that’s when we get to be together again 🙂 It is definately very hard – and i just miss the little things! Please let me know how you stay sane – im feel as if im loosing my mind more and more with every day that i don’t get to be near him. Thank you for posting and writing about this – it helps to know that there are other people in the same situation – please continue writing – i’ll be sure to check back and hope september turns up before you know it!

    • jenniferatx permalink*
      July 28, 2009 12:10 pm

      Janey!
      Aww thanks for the nice comments…Where is your BF? When are you going over? Is it your first time? Alright and also how did ya met?
      I have come to decide Skype is our best friend so you can actually see each other and email is a fabulous way to stay in touch but I do send text messages thry Skype as well because its only 9 cents per message and he has Vodafone and its free to receive them 😉

      Keep me posted us LDR people need the support and stories since most people don’t get why we would put ourselves thru this haha
      Jenn

      • Janey permalink
        July 28, 2009 8:19 pm

        Aw you are so welcome! I’m just so glad i have found someone else in such similar shoes 🙂
        My boyfriend is also from the UK – he lives in London (aww its sweet how these british blokes got us so smitten lol)Its a whirlwind of a story with him and i…i’ll be sure to send it to you – but the shortened version is that we met in may and have been writing/skyping/texting/emailing/calling since then – then i took a chance and went to visit him in London over the 4th of july (quite ironic eh? celebrating Independence Day in good ol’ UK) I spent the most amazing 10 days there and couldnt get on the plane to take me home…and now we are even stronger than before. To be honest i wouldn’t trade this for anything in the world. So september will be my second time visiting and we are counting down the seconds. He was initially coming to visit me in the lovely NJ – he’s never been to NY so i was making all these plans for us – but as fate would have he just started his new job and taking a “holiday” is a bit inconvenient right now so instead we decided for me to fly there again! You must be so excited to be going there – you are going to love it! I will give you all the best pointers, lol. How long will you be traveling for? What part will you be visiting? I am so happy for you – having just returned i can’t even imagine how exhilirating and amazing you time there will be! I will definately keep you updated and please please do the same!

        P.s. I’m loving the new layout and great pics! You guys looks absolutely great together – i wish you all the best – if you ever need to vent or have any questions about my stay there please feel free to write – i would love to help in any way. (i.e. what to pack…what to bring…just a hint: they don’t have tootsie rolls there and my bf loved them!) You are absolutely right us “crazy” LDR people definately need to stick together – its helpful to have someone there who understands the ups and downs of such a relationship – and kudos to andrea922 – i loved reading her happy ending fairytale!

  2. andrea922 permalink
    July 28, 2009 7:59 pm

    I wanted to give you a positive story so you don’t ever get discouraged with being in a long distance relationship! I met my British husband in the US in January of 05, we went back and forth every month for a year and a half, got engaged, I moved to London, we got married, had a baby boy and moved back to the US last year. I spent 2.5 years in the UK and now we are back in the US permanently. I loved my time there, and miss it, but wouldn’t have another baby there 🙂 My point? Stick it out, it is totally worth it! It is hard, it is tiring, it is expensive, but there is nothing like that feeling of knowing you will see him after time apart, and then when you do figure out how to be together it is the best thing ever! And if you want it to work out it WILL work out!

    Best,
    Andrea

  3. andrea922 permalink
    July 28, 2009 8:00 pm

    Oh – and I have a blog that dates back to 2006, around the time I moved over to the UK! www dot andreaythomas dot blogspot dot com.

  4. July 29, 2009 6:48 am

    Both of you – ok I need the story – where and how did you meet?

    Andrea – What an awesome story and yes I will be reading your blog now! You flew back and forth every month WOW that had to be expensive – how did you work (ok ok I will read your blog to find out)

    Janey – I met my man in April in Vegas of all places and he came here for 4th of July and I am going there in Sept! Ok This is weird haha You mentioned Jersey? Where? I lived in Red Bank and went to college at Stockton- I am a jersey girl at heart. I did email you not sure if you got it or not.
    I am going to Newcastle Area Sept 11th-26th – his birthday is the 16th so it is fabulous timing! We are trying to get to York for the food and drink festival and I know we are going to the lake district for a few nights as well! Yep we need to chat haha

    ~Jenn

    • andrea922 permalink
      July 29, 2009 12:39 pm

      Lee and I met at a wedding in Pittsburgh and hit it off, and spent 5 days inseparably! I flew over 3 weeks later to meet him! It was expensive, but plane tickets seem to be more now than they were 4.5 years ago! We also had generous parents with lots of frequent flier miles!

      My husband is from Newcastle originally, Whitley Bay actually, which is on the sea about 15 minutes or so from Newcastle. He lived in York for a while, and we have friends there so we went often. We are going to Newcastle in October for 2 weeks!

      • July 29, 2009 12:43 pm

        This is my first time over…I am very excited. He actually lives a little bit from Newcastle near Durham – It will just be nice to picture his reality ya know wherehe lives the daily grind ect… Oh I am sure the flights were less expensive then – its the taxes that kill me! have fun in Newcastle – woohoo for you!

  5. andrea922 permalink
    July 29, 2009 1:31 pm

    You guys should go to Durham, it is a cute town! Newcastle is nice too, more of a party city. If you have time you should have him take you North to Bamburgh Castle and Holy Island, they are great! Have fun!

  6. July 29, 2009 1:33 pm

    Ohh I know we are going to Durham as its a hop skip and a jump! I will mention the other two since I don’t know how far away they are because I am clueless.
    Trying to fit in Lake District, York, his Birthday and his kids not sure how much we will be doing driving wise. I don’t want to spend my whole time traveling around as its most important just to spend time with him, his kids and meeting the mates oh and I am sure the fam.
    Thanks for the suggestions though!

Leave a Reply

